Geographic Inheritance

Select a map

Abu Dhabi Emirate: Geographic Inheritance

  • Layers
  • Protected Areas

  • The UAE covers approximately 82,820 km2 and is bordered to the north by the Arabian Gulf, to the east by Oman, and to the south and west by Saudi Arabia. Abu Dhabi, with a total area of approximately 66,900 km2, is the largest of the seven emirates. The terrain primarily consists of vast deserts with rolling sandy plains and dunes rising as high as 150 metres near Liwa.

    Alluvial plains and the isolated mountain habitat at Jebel Hafit in the eastern part of Abu Dhabi define the inner limits of the extensive coastal zone of the Emirate. Offshore, Abu Dhabi's numerous islands have a distinct ecology and provide critical habitat for a variety of native and migratory species that thrive in relatively undisturbed conditions.